Tri Sigma Announces 2023 National Award Winners

Tri Sigma is proud to recognize exceptional members and chapters during the 2023 calendar year as a part of itsannual awards program. The annual awards program celebrates the accomplishments of collegiate chapters, alumnae chapters and individual members during the past calendar year. Chapter award categories highlight the connection between excellent operations and sisterhood while individual award categories recognize outstanding leadership within Tri Sigma and the local community.  

The following 2023 awardrecipients have created a legacy of excellence, hard work, and are stellar examples of a values-focused commitment to Tri Sigma and their communities.  



  • Collegiate Chapter of the Year: Alpha Chi–Murray State University 
  • Chapter Advisory Board of the Year: Alpha Chi–Murray State University 
  • Excellence in Academic Success: Chi–Pittsburg State University 
  • Excellence in Marketing & Social Media:  
    • Mu–Truman State University 
    • Chi–Pittsburg State University 
    • Beta Alpha–Northern Illinois University 
  • Excellence in Membership Recruitment: Nu–University of Central Missouri 
  • Excellence in Resiliency: Delta Zeta–Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania 
  • Jane E. Kinderman Standards of Efficiency Award: Alpha Chi–Murray State University 
  • Laura Ward Sweet Panhellenic Excellence Award: Nu–University of Central Missouri



  • Mabel Lee Walton Leadership Award: Halima Duarte, Epsilon Chi–Northeastern University 
  • Margaret Freeman Everett Outstanding Senior: Madeline Murdock, Chi–Pittsburg State University 
  • Outstanding Member:
    • Rebecca Chernoff, Eta Xi–Ursinus College
    • Alexis Epplin, Alpha Chi–Murray State University
  • Outstanding Senior:
    • Brenna Snively, Eta Xi–Ursinus College
    • Caroline Reid, Alpha Chi–Murray State University
  • Outstanding Advisor:
    • Kathy Kopperud–Alpha Chi Advisor
    • Sue Bracksieck–Alpha Iota Advisor
    • Jena Harris–Alpha Rho Advisor
  • Fraternity/Sorority Advisor of the Year: Alexis Swider, Elon University 



  • Alumnae Chapter of the Year: Indianapolis Suburban  
  • Excellence in Collegiate Support: Southern West Virginia  
  • Excellence in Creative Educational Programming–Collaboration: Chicago North Shore  
  • Excellence in Creative Educational Programming–Social Excellence: Kansas City  
  • Excellence in Creative Educational Programming–Wellbeing: Phoenix  
  • Excellence in Member Development: Phoenix  
  • Excellence in Member Recruitment: Chicago North Shore  
  • Excellence in Ritual & Values: Chicago North Shore  
  • Excellence in Volunteerism: Phoenix  



  • Emerging Alumnae:
    • Julia Melone, Eta Upsilon–Pennsylvania State University
    • Dina Tolen, Eta Theta–Gustavus Adolphus College
    • Shelby Kutev, Iota Alpha
  • Outstanding Alumna: Lauren Cunkelman Ede, Alpha Delta
  • Steadfast Alumna: Lori Prato Keating, Kappa
  • Emily Gates Alumna Achievement Award: Mary Webster, Beta Kappa 


Collegiate awards were presented live at the Prevention Institute, Jan. 7. Alumnae awards were presented during an online ceremony, April 2. For more information on awards criteria, members can log into Sigma Connect.